DIY

Taking a KitchenAid to a whole new level!

So… it’s been way too long since my last post. I had a few in the works and I guess I just never finished them.
This particular one had to wait to be written because it involves gift-giving and I couldn’t write about the gift until it had been given! Wouldn’t want to spoil the surprise! Thankfully, it turned out alright and was well received by Ben and Danielle, the newlyweds. 🙂

Anyway, here’s the real question: Are you bored of your KitchenAid stand mixer?? Want to liven it up a bit?
Well, you can!

Danielle’s mixer was plain white and I’d heard her complaints about that and decided to do something about it. Can I just say that spray paint is magical? RustOleum Gloss Protective Enamel to be exact. It does a great job and, except for my few rookie mistakes, the coating looked factory fresh.

First we had to take the mixer apart and do a lot of taping.

 

IMG_9130 IMG_9131 IMG_9132 I painstakingly cut this design out three times! Should have been only two times but, I did it backwards the first time. 😦IMG_9134 IMG_9149 IMG_9150 IMG_9151 IMG_9152 I used self laminating sheets for the cut-out so it would stick to the mixer for spraying. You could use contact paper (might be better) but, this is what I had… so I used it! Worked ok but, you’ll see a few photos down how I had to touch it up.IMG_9153 IMG_9154 IMG_9155 Here’s what it looked like at first. I was so sad. I thought I was going to have to scrap the whole deal and start over. Turns out that I’m glad I tried to fix it first because it ended up looking ok. IMG_9156 IMG_9157 Who knew you could spray paint on a plate and use a brush for touch-up work? I did! 🙂IMG_9159 Scary… I was so afraid to mess it up!IMG_9160 IMG_9161 IMG_9162 All done. Looks pretty good! You can’t tell the colors very well from these pictures,

which is unfortunate because they look better in real life. IMG_9163 Oops! I thought I was done… just took a second to spray that. Ha.IMG_9164So… there you have it. A “new” KitchenAid.
Now to decide what to do to mine!
Let me know if any of you try it and post pictures! I want to see your creative juices flowing!
Merry Christmas, everyone!

Any thoughts?

