DIY · Responsible Living

Homemade toothpaste!

IMG_0090

Making my own toothpaste sounded a bit extreme to me so, it took me quite a while to finally try it. I had been intrigued by the prospect for some time and would periodically put the kit in my cart and then chicken out and not buy it. Haha.

(You can buy it here: http://www.bulkherbstore.com/Bentonite-Clay-Toothpaste-Kit)

I finally decided to try it after reading more on what’s in our toothpastes, even the “natural” ones, and reading about the benefits of Bentonite clay and these other spices. It was a little messy but, super easy to make. It is also definitely a very different brushing experience, however, my teeth feel cleaner than ever. So, let me show you what was in the kit and how to make it.

This is what comes in the box:
IMG_0070

Bentonite Clay, 1/2 lb

Cinnamon Sticks, 1/2 lb

Cloves, 1/2 lb

Celtic Sea Salt, 1/2 lb

Stevia, 1 oz

I then had to provide baking soda, filtered (from my Berkey water filter) water, a glass bowl, wooden spoon and a stainless pot.

The first thing you do is put 3 cups of water into the pot and add the cinnamon sticks (1 1/2c), cloves (4tbls) and stevia (1tbls). It needs to boil for 20 minutes, uncovered.
IMG_0078IMG_0080

In the mean time, mix 1 tbls of baking soda and 1 tsp of the salt in a dish and put 1 cup of the clay in a glass bowl (read about why glass is so important on the Bulk Herb Store webpage). I used a wide mouth Ball jar to measure my clay since I only have metal measuring cups. *Note: The baking soda and salt measurements are different on the webpage but, these measurements are what were on my instructions that came in the box.

IMG_0081

IMG_0082

IMG_0083

When it the 20 min has past, pour the mixture through a strainer into a glass container. Slowly add the salt and baking soda mix to the liquid and it will fizz and foam a bit.

IMG_0084

Now we get to add the liquid to the clay, stirring thoroughly. Keep mixing until it is the consistency that you want. At first mine looked like this:

IMG_0085

It was too dry, so I added a bit more filtered water until it was more “toothpaste-y”.
IMG_0086

Sometimes it might need more clay. You can just add water or clay depending on what your batch needs at the time.
After that I just schlopped it into a wide mouth jar and used a plastic lid. Now, I know that the clay can absorb toxins from plastic as well but, it’s not in direct contact with the plastic so I’m assuming that it’s fine.

IMG_0093IMG_0087

I am using that pretty little bamboo spoon shown above to apply it to my toothbrush and although you don’t need to do that for germs, it just makes it easier to get out of the jar. Brushing with clay has taking a little getting used to and the mixture is a bit salty but, our teeth have never felt cleaner and our breath is even showing improvement. We don’t wake up in the morning with that nasty “I NEED to brush my teeth!” feeling anymore. I have taken a “before” picture of my teeth and will take another one in 2 weeks to see if there is also improved whiteness, and I expect there will be. Another benefit of making this is that I boiled (off and on) the spices in the pot for several days, making my house smell delightful.

IMG_0096

So, what’s stopping you? Buy the kit and make some today!
Oh and, yes, the kit is cheaper than buying the items separately, I checked. I bought an extra 1/2 lb of clay and, with that, I should be able to make several batches of toothpaste. However, this first batch is going to last FOREVER so, I’m not too worried about it.

Let me know if you try it!

Any thoughts?

